APC Convention: Lagos Releases Names of Consensus Candidates for Youth Leader and Zonal Secretary


The Lagos State branch of the All Progressives Congress has chosen 36-year-old Dayo Israel and former Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Lateef Ibirogba, respectively as their leader. Youth National and Southwest Zone Organizing Secretary in today’s APC National. Convention.

The Lagos APC’s decision was announced by the party’s chairman, Rev. Cornelius Ojebabi, during a meeting organized for party leaders and delegates at the Lagos Governor’s Lodge, Abuja by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

The dinner was attended by Sanwo-Olu, his deputy, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat; Ojelabi; members of the Governance Advisory Council, the supreme governing body of Lagos APC; members of the Lagos State National Assembly; Members of the Lagos State Assembly; Members of the State Executive Council and Chairpersons of Local Governments in Lagos State among others.

Speaking at the dinner, Governor Sanwo-Olu, who praised all party leaders and delegates for traveling from Lagos to Abuja to attend the APC national convention, expressed his support for Israel and the Ibirogba, chosen by the party to represent Lagos in the National. Working Committee as well as the South-West level of the APC.

“They showed our two candidates that we are presenting; National Youth Leader, Dayo Isreal from Lagos Island in Lagos Central, and Lateef Ibirogba from Alimosho in Lagos West. We are sure they will represent us very well,” he said in a statement.

Ojelabi praised the governor for hosting the dinner and his contribution to the progress of the party. He also congratulated the delegates for traveling from Lagos for the convention.

The APC president implored delegates to work for the emergence of Dayo Israel and Lateef Ibirogba as national youth leader and secretary of the South West Zone organization respectively.

He said, “We are committed to organizing a successful National Convention to establish a democratically elected APC National Working Committee for the next four years. The unit list will be provided as we head to the convention venue.

“We have our person who is going to represent the good people of Lagos State in the National Working Committee. We feature someone who will galvanize for young people to vote for our party in Lagos State and nationally in the 2023 general election. He is Dayo Isreal. We present him as the national youth leader. I want you all to beg for him. He is a dynamic young man who knows what it takes to mobilize and galvanize young people to support our party.

“I also want to introduce you to the organizational secretary of the zone, who will represent us all at the South West level. I have the honor to introduce to you Mr. Lateef Ibirogba, who will be a candidate for the position of Zone Organizing Secretary.

Copyright PUNCH.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this website may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without the prior express written permission of PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]


Comments are closed.