Meet the 2022 Boys & Girls Club of Ridgefield Youth of the Year Nominees!


The Boys and Girls Club of Ridgefield is thrilled to recognize 14 Club members as 2022 Youth of the Year nominees! We are delighted to present the next 5 candidates: Sydney Rossi, Briony Sekelsky, Will Scheffel, Nora Schoenherr and Claire Zhang. Sydney is a junior at John Jay in Cross River, NY; and Briony, Will, Nora, and Claire are all juniors at Ridgefield High School.

This Friday, March 18, 2022, the Boys and Girls Club of Ridgefield will hold its annual Youth Leadership Dinner, an evening to celebrate the Club and the youth who make it the special place it is! This powerful evening honors character and leadership program members from the Gem Club (5th grade members), Torch Club (middle school members) and Keystone Club (high school members), individually recognizing members for their commitment and their accomplishments.

The dinner will also highlight the 14 Youth of the Year nominees and the 4 Junior Youth of the Year nominees, who will each spend a few minutes talking about their personal experience with BGCR and the impact the Club has had on their life. The highlight of the evening will be the crowning of the Youth of the Year 2022, the most prestigious distinction awarded to a member of the Club. Youth of the Year is awarded to an exemplary youth in recognition of leadership, service, academic excellence, and dedication to living a healthy life. Now in its 75th year, the Youth of the Year program honors our club’s most impressive young leaders who have a positive impact on our club and community.

A committee of local community leaders (and BGCR supporters) interviewed the candidates and worked with professional staff to select the Youth of the Year. The Youth of the Year judges were Connecticut State Rep. Aimee Berger-Girvalo; Susie Da Silva, Ed.D. Superintendent of Ridgefield Schools; Nicholas Donofrio, IBM Fellow Emeritus; Jeffrey Kreitz, Chief, Ridgefield Police Department; and Rudy Marconi, Ridgefield’s first coach.

The Youth of the Year winner will receive a $5,000 college scholarship from the Couri Family Scholarship Fund to help get them started on the path to their great future.

The Youth of the Year winners are shining examples and living proof that GREAT FUTURES begin at the club, and the club is delighted to honor all nominees at the dinner. All Club friends, supporters, donors and families are invited to attend the Youth Leadership Dinner on Friday, March 18, 2022 at the Ethan Allen Hotel from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. For more information or to confirm your attendance, please contact Mike Flynn, Managing Director, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , 203-438-8821 ext. 15.

Good luck to Sydney, Briony, Will, Nora and Claire! Be sure to come back tomorrow to meet some of the Club’s other fantastic Youth of the Year candidates!


Comments are closed.