NC General Convention delegates want mix of seasoned and young leaders in new CWC – myRepublica


KATHMANDU, December 11: Delegates who came to Kathmandu to attend the 14th General Convention of the Nepalese Congress (NC) said that the experience of senior leaders and the enthusiasm of young people should be taken into account to strengthen the organization party.

Dhanusha Constituency No. 1 General Convention delegate Raj Kishor Singh, during a speech Friday at the inauguration of the party’s 14th General Convention, said there was a need for transformation in the within the party to adapt to the 21st century.

Singh said there needed to be a serious examination within the party on why the NC, which once had a good base of support in the Terai, has now become weak. “The NC is used to forming a majority government when it can perform well in Madhesh. Therefore, leadership is needed to connect the mountains, the hills and the Terai,” Singh said.

Lamjung General Convention representative Asmita Gurung said youth and women should come forward in the party. “If the old leaders agree and hand over leadership to the new generation, the party can become more capable and stronger,” she said.

Similarly, Bishnu Bahadur Chhetri from Kaski Constituency No. 3, said that not only the party but also the leadership of the country needs to be transformed by strengthening the organization with timely ideas, policies and programs.

NC Chitwan secretary and General Convention representative Uttam Joshi said there was a need for generational transfer within the party as youth representatives came from all over the country. CN should move forward with new leadership, a new way of thinking and a new style for the country’s development.

According to the party’s central election commission, the list of delegates was released on Friday. The registration of applications which began at 10 a.m. today will continue until 5 p.m. The first list of candidates will be published this evening from 9 p.m. to 12 p.m., the time for withdrawal of declarations of candidacy will be set for December 12 at 11 a.m. and the final list of candidates will be published the same day at 12:15 p.m. The vote will take place on December 13 from 8:00 a.m., said committee coordinator Gopal Krishna Ghimire.



Comments are closed.